{Grateful}

{perfect} storm

Friends, a perfect storm is happening in my life.  I’m not exactly sure where it’s going to land me because it’s still raining out.

Not physical rain.  More emotional winds and spiritual drops of conviction and questions and prompting.  It’s quite wild, but rain coats are not required.  I’m going to try to explain it, but I can’t guarantee story cohesion.  That’s just how storms are sometimes.

IMG_2354

Jared and I are reading the book 7 : An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess by Jen Hatmaker.  Have you heard of it?  It’s Jen’s firsthand account of how, for 7 months, she and her family reduce in certain areas: food, clothes, possessions, waste, stress, etc.  Jesus shook her life up and made it all messy and uncomfortable and awesome a few years ago and as a result one of the things she’s done since is her 7 experiment.  The book isn’t necessarily intended to be a guide for the reader to do the same, but she states that if your stories connect, if God strikes a cord in your heart, then she hopes that it will benefit you to hear her story.  If God strikes a cord.  Ha.  God’s all poundin’ on the cords with a leather mallet.

So that’s one factor.

We are also in our last semester.  We’re officially praying about what’s next, with job applications and lots of googling to boot.  Prayer googling, friends.  We’re still here, in Southern Illinois.  But we won’t be here forever.  We do believe God’s already started to call us to what’s next, though we don’t have a whole picture of what that is yet.

So that’s a factor.

This makes me think about moving.  Moving means shuffling stuff.  If there is one thing Jared and I do not like, it’s stuff shuffling.  I genuinely almost listed all of our possessions on craigslist yesterday.  I kid not.  I sent some frantic text messages asking people to talk me off the cliff.  I am collecting moving boxes and giant piles of things to be sold via the internet.

So that’s a factor.

My sisters and I, thank you Jesus, are all still friends as adults.  It’s a beautiful gift, and I think they’re the bees knees.  Interestingly, all three of us will experience life transitions very close together: graduations and conclusions of seasons.  My heart feels so empathetic to the process of job applications and interviews and calling right now.  Want to talk about it?  I got your back.

So, that’s a factor.

Also, our church started a series on finances yesterday.  I’m not exactly sure what God will do in us during this series, but I can’t help but think that it’s alllllllllll connected (in my brain, it totally is.  Even if it doesn’t make sense here.  Don’t worry, this is a common symptom of those in a relationship with me).  There’s something I’m supposed to be learning here, and I want to be attentive to what it is.  We’re closing down on this season (I’m looking at you thesis.  You WILL NOT rule me forever!) and we want to finish it with faithfulness and joy and gratefulness.  Granted, I mostly have no idea how to do that, but in my better moments that’s my prayer.

So, that’s another factor.

I can’t give you a conclusion.  I have no lessons-learned to report.  Just the raw, in-process messiness of this rich life.  I’ll keep you posted.

And, if you’re local, keep an eye on craigslist.  Word on the street is the lockers I just showed you in my last post will end up there soon.

2 thoughts on “{perfect} storm

  1. I’m laughing out loud about your lockers:) And I feel your pain! Focus on today and today’s “issues”: From JESUS CALLING for Feb 26: “I am leading you, STEP BY STEP, though your life. Hold My hand in trusting dependence, letting Me guide you through this day. Your future looks uncertain and feels flimsy:)–even precarious… When you try to figure out the future, you are grasping at things that are Mine.” “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you and watch over you.” Psalm 32:8 We are praying for you often, as well as Ruth and Deborah…in a way this will bond you even closer together, as you all seek God’s Leading for the future at the same time! This is such a lesson in TRUST isn’t it? My prayer is that you and Jared can sort out what God’s calling you to do for today, for right now, and that you both can keep that focus and finish that –STRONG in HIS Strength! We love you so much and we are confident that “He who began His good work in you will bring it to completion!” Aunt Lyn, for Uncle Bill, too

    Like

Leave a comment:

