{Recipes & Eats} / {Whole30 Journey}

{recipe edition: pumpkin banana ice cream}

This banana ice cream is an Autumn processional in your mouth.

For real.
























{Ingredients}
Approx. 1 1/2 cups frozen bananas
Approx. 1/2 cup frozen pumpkin puree
2 Tablespoons almond butter
2 Tablespoons coconut milk
Cinnamon and nutmeg to taste (I like about 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg)
{Directions}
Place all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth.  Add more coconut milk if the ice cream is too thick (though I’m certain I’ve never heard of such a thing).
Makes 2 servings.
{Tips}
Any “ice cream” made in your blender is going to resemble soft serve ice cream in texture. It’s best to eat it right away, if put in your freezer it will crystalize.  Do not add too much coconut milk right away, or you’ll end up with a shake instead of ice cream.  You can always add more coconut milk, but you just can’t take it away!
For the frozen pumpkin puree, you could use canned.  But, I highly highly recommend going to your local pumpkin patch/farmers market/produce stand/backyard garden and get pumpkins to make your own.  It’ll be a fun outing and processing pumpkin is incredibly easy and crazy cheaper per cup (I actually did the math on this {I’ll give you a moment to get over the shock}. Where I got my pumpkins, it was 25 cents a cup for my own puree, versus $1.70 a cup for my canned-no-additives option).

Chow down.  Resist the urge to gouge your neighbor in the belly with your elbow so you can steal theirs.  It’s just not in the spirit of Fall.

ps: Inspired by this banana ice cream recipe.

4 thoughts on “{recipe edition: pumpkin banana ice cream}

  1. OH YUM. This looks excellent indeed. Do you know approximately how much the almond butter and coconut milk cost? I don't generally have those things in the house, but I'm thinking I must make this!

    Like

  2. It is pretty amazing. I may have made it 3 times in the last 48 hours.You can switch out coconut milk for cow milk and almond butter for peanut butter, if that's more up your alley. This is a Whole30 compliant recipe, and while we're done with the Whole30 experience my tastes have really changed so that I why I left the recipe this way.Almond milk is usually 3-4 for a half gallon (about the same price for a can, I buy the no-sugar-added half gallon because it's a better value than the can). Almond milk can be between 6-12 dollars for a jar (deeeeeeeeeeeeeeh), which is why I've started making my own. A 12 oz. bag of almonds from Aldi is 3.99. It's crazy tasty and pretty simple. Here's a tutorial for making it in your food processor (I don't have one, so I make it in my blender).http://www.two-tarts.com/2012/03/homemade-almond-butter.html

    Like

Leave a comment:

