{Whole30 Journey}

on food

Do you read blogs?

I mean, if you read that sentence, then you’re obviously reading a blog at this very very second.

But, hey, maybe you’re reading here because you know me.  Or Jared.  Or you’re bffs with our four legged friend.

Anyway, what I’m trying to say is: I know that everyone doesn’t read blogs like they are the morning newspaper.  But, since I started this internet house, I’ve started reading various blogs.

There was one blog out there that I knew my friends were reading… I mean, like trusted friends, friends with good taste.  And they were all reading it.  Read it.  Loved it.  Raved about it.  And I totally didn’t want to start reading it because I didn’t want to be just like them.

There are other blogs, I thought to myself.  I’ll just find them.  And read them.  And have my own independently cool blogs that I follow.  One of my youngest child traits, I tell you: be cool and independent and whatever you do DO NOT do what everyone else is doing.

I started reading the blog.  It was an accident.  I think.  I don’t remember why I clicked over there, one day, but I did.

And now I read it regularly.  Story of my life: misjudge people then discover they were totally right.  You can really laugh when I’m driving a mini-van one day.

This blog, called Today’s Letters, is basically the letters between a husband and wife.  They’re not super mushy and gross, just honest words of appreciation for one another with the little perspectives and snapshots of their life.  It’s a fresh format, and they seem to be genuine.  What can I say?  I’m a sucker for genuine people {even if everyone else is reading them}.

In April, one of them did a nutrition program called Whole30.  I clicked on over to the link she provided and read about what she could not (dairy, grains, sugars, and crazy processed food) eat for the next 30 days and what she could eat (meats, vegetables, fruits, fats, proteins).  She kept her readers updated with how things were going, the challenges, and the rewards.  And she so accurately kept her readers pointed towards the purpose: to develop a healthier relationship with food.  Not weight loss.  Not some organic-hippy-crazed fad.  Learning how to listen to when you’re body is hungry, and giving it what it really needs.  30 days to hit “reset” on how the human body becomes addicted to processed food and sugar, and to eat real food instead.

And for some reason, I couldn’t get it out of my brain.  It just got lodged in the back: the idea of developing a more positive relationship with food.  The idea of hitting reset.  The idea of honoring God wholly with my body and my food.

I love it, love it when God works on Jared and I on the same thing, but without the other knowing it.  I love the conversation where one of us is like, “so I’ve been thinking for a while now, that I need to do something about xyz” and the other person is like, “really?  I’ve been thinking about that too!”.  I love how God brings us on the same page.  {It’s far easier than one of us (read: me) tries to get the other on the same page.)

You know I’m about to tell you this page has Whole30 on it, huh?  Well, yes.  You’re smart.

So, we’re going to do it.  We’re starting Thursday, August 9.  I have a countdown on the calendar, and it. is. happening.  We’re excited.  And nervous.  And excited.  We’re going to get headaches when our bodies detox from sugar.  I’m going to get baked-goods withdrawal.  I’ll miss s’mores at the family shindigalig (don’t worry fam, I’ll still bring you cheese from the cheese-gods.  i love you. that. much.) and cream in my coffee.  But the pros outway the cons.  Obedience is never a con.

We’re praying that on the other side of a mere 30 days our thoughts, actions, and attitudes about food will be more honoring.  We don’t really know what that will look like… but we’re excited to find out!

And because you reading this here blog, I just wanted you to know.

ps: I’ll keep you updated about our progress as we slay the Sugar Dragon!

One thought on “on food

Leave a comment:

