{Grateful} / {House Tour} / {Tutorials & Handmade}

why i decided to change everything when it was already fine

I’ve tried writing this blogpost so many times.

I was literally just venting to Jared about how I want to share on this topic, but I don’t want to come across as superficial nor as too philosophical or religious or pushy or obnoxious.

So, I’m scratching my draft that I thought was almost done.

Here’s the scoop folks: in the last year, I’ve really become interested in what my home looks like.  For real.  I care about the style and the design and if that should get hung on that wall or if it should be switched to another or if that bookcase should be in a different corner.  Do all people think this way?  Has everyone grown up thinking about design?

I didn’t.  I grew up thinking I was going to be a missionary living in a hut in the Amazon.  Or the dessert.  Regardless.

But I was certain it was going to be a hut.

I’m not kidding, folks.  I distinctly remember in my adolescence scoffing at those that put time into making their home feel a certain way with their stuff because that’s money that could use to clothe people or feed people or be given away.  And I think that’s important.  And I definitely thought it was more important than home frills.

And I still do.  But I’m learning that it’s also important to create a home space that is a haven for your own little (or big) family, for the people that walk through your doorway and experience life with you.  Your home says a lot about you, I think.

Maybe I’m not doing a swell job at communicating this, but it has been difficult to adjust my paradigm.  To expand it, really.  It’s important vital that we take care of widows and orphans.  If you’re serious about loving Jesus, it’s kind of a big deal.  But I also think that Jesus wants our homes to be a place of welcoming and hospitality.  Which, for me, has meant that it’s okay if I think about which corner the chair is in because the reality is that I do not currently live in a hut in the Amazon (Jared tells me some days the humidity here feels like the Amazon.  He’s not given to exaggerations {ha!} nor has he visited the Amazon).

Do you want to know why I’ve been struggling to write a post about this?  Well, my reasons are twofold, really (um, if we’re friends in reality, you know that I love to say twofold in reality.  so funny.  always throws people off): the first fold (ha!  that’s how I say it in reality too.  oh blogging.  such a funny thing) is that I hope this internet home is a place of transparency.  Not oversharing, but transparency.  The second fold is a little more simple: Jared built us a bed!  And I want you to know about the bed and how awesome it is and what spectactular job Jared did because he’s awesome and I love him.  Oh, but also that with the building of the bed I decided we should change all of our bed linens.  And it took me a long time to figure out why that was important to me and why that also felt wrong, as if I were breaking some sort of moral law.  And that little blurb above hopefully helps explain the internal struggle I have been having between really caring about whether we’re using a brown duvet cover that doesn’t fit our comforter and that I loathe even though that’s what I asked for Christmas *gasp for breath* and the reality that my brown duvet doesn’t really matter but what I’d really like to do is sew a white quilt to go with the new bed because it’d be so much more us and that’s what I’d like to have for the rest of my life on our bed and am I praying for Gilbert, our kiddo in Tanzania often enough and I really need to write him a letter but I just don’t know what to say and now we’ll need new pillowcases to go with the quilt.

See what I’m saying?  Or maybe you don’t.  But I think, if you love Jesus, these are important things to pray and think about.  I really don’t have design or caring for others figured out, muchless the balance between the two, but I’d like to think I’m in process.

Also, come back on Monday, because I’ll show you pictures of the new bed (just for you, Laur!).

ps: if you want to think more about design and widows and orphans, i highly recommend becoming a regular reader of the nester, whom i think is the bees knees, because she’s somehow figured out how to care which lamps are next to her bed while caring about orphans.  it’ll blow your mind.


pss: did i use “whom correctly”?  i know not.


psss: i’m not capitalizing my proper nouns, so it probably doesn’t matter if i used whom correctly. 


The end.

One thought on “why i decided to change everything when it was already fine

  1. Amen and Amen! God cares about beuty…why else did He give such clear directions on how the temple and tabreancle should look? And most of it was "just" decoration. He designed so much beauty, simply to be enjoyed. And yes, you nailed it with the whole haven and hospitality thing…because really, even a hut in the Amazon can be lovely…really…or a cement block house in central America:) It's good to think about design and be delibreate with it! Since it's summer and you can read whatever you want, check out this book by one of the great Christian thinkers of the 20th century, Francis Schaeffer http://www.amazon.com/Art-Bible-Classics-Francis-Schaeffer/dp/083083401X/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&qid=1342481994&sr=8-10&keywords=francis+schaeffer It's called Art and the Bible

    Like

Leave a comment:

