{Puppy Grub} / {Recipes & Eats}

chips

Hi, friends!
 
How are you on this fine, sunny Wednesday?
 
I’m drinking a cup of coffee, lounging on the couch, trying to kick my end-of-the-semester-sickness.  My body is incredibly faithful in getting sick after the completion of the semester.  It knows when the stress is over.  I usually don’t resent the sickness, because, hey, the stress is over.  Sayonara, school! (for a little while, at least)
 
Jared and I are adjusting to our summer schedule.  I’m working a summer assistantship (it’s only ten hours a week, and it’s primarily research which I do at home)and Jared’s working for the USFS (um, that the united states forest service. smokey bear is his boss. don’t start forest fires).  Jared had the option between working a traditional 8 hour shift, 5 days a week, or a 10 hour shift, 4 days a week.  
 
He chose the 10 hour shift option, so that we have fridays, saturdays, and sundays free. It’s glorious.
 
We get to have all sorts of adventures.
 
Like homemade potato chips.  
 
I love snacks.  Jared loves snacks.  There is a lot of love going around.  The results? Sometimes, we just eat snacks for dinner.
 
Like Saturday night.  We feasted on this gigantic plate of homemade potato chips.
 

And they were awesome.
In theory, we would have tried to bake them to make them a little healthier.  But homemade potato chips were a bit time consuming, so they won’t get added to our regular rotation of snacks.  So, we fried ’em up!

Please, may I have some chips?

What if I look away?  May I have some chips then?




But, I’m so cute!


Life is rough, if you’re our four-legged friend.


We fell asleep looking at the stars through the bug-safety of our tent body.  We woke up with rain falling on us in the middle of the night.


Sieze the little adventures, my friends.


If this sort of snack dinner appeals to you, we used this recipe.  The dip is a cilantro lime (also excellent with baked sweet potato fries, which are far healthier for you:) but I just sort of made it up, because I didn’t really have any of the things my potential recipes called for.  It’s about 1/2 cup plain yogurt, 1/4 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup of freshly chopped cilantro, the juice of one lime, and salt to taste. It was tasty.

Leave a comment:

