{Home Team}

The Village

Every Christmas season for as long as I can remember, my grandparent’s (mom’s parents) have adorned their dining room with a small village.

As a kid, I would stare at the village for what felt like hours.  It really feels like a little town; each character has a different story to tell.  Even though I’m “all grown up” (ha!  I use that loosely) I still find myself lost in the characters.  Take a look.

 

 

 

 

Together, they make up The Village.
My Grandpa hand paints each item.  It represents hundreds of hours of work and dedication.  Pieces are added to the village over time, and he and my grandmother (whom we lost many years ago, but all still morn, celebrate and miss, dearly) have created a memory for each of us.

While we were exploring The Village this year, my Grandpa told me about some of the great-grandkids that came over to see The Village.  He chuckled as he told me that after they left he found ice skaters hanging out on a rooftop.  I used to do the same thing as a kid.  One of the awesome rules of The Village is that kids are allowed to touch it and make it come alive.  I loved that rule.

My Gramps, he’s a pretty swell fellow, if I do say so myself.

Leave a comment:

