{Adventures}

Food for Thought

Among our classes this semester is a “Philosophy of Leisure” class, examining well, the philosophy of leisure…
I’m so helpful, eh?

I have a love/hate relationship with this class.  The professor teaches with a very dedicated socratic method–he’s all about questions and us exploring the answers for ourselves.  This is great, but sometimes irritating when there really is a right and wrong answer and you just need to know what it is.  But, it’s our hardest class and it actually makes me feel like I’m being held to graduate school standards and not piddling my brain away on busy work.  So I appreciate the challenge.

I digress.

Jared and I are writing a paper for this class today.  The paper is supposed to answer the question, “Is leisure the basis of culture?”.

Ironically, we both had similar views until we started writing our papers.  Now, we’re both thinking we may have argued ourselves to the other side.

So, what do you think? (No, I’m not going to use your opinions in my paper.  Sorry.)  Is leisure the basis of culture?  Is culture the basis of leisure?

Also, if you’re looking for some intriguing reading (ha!  I know you are.  Seriously though.  Intriguing reading.) I have a short little article from Touchstone’s Journal of Mere Christianity.  It’s interesting, and I think you should read it.  Leave me a comment and I’ll email it to you (assuming I have your email.  If you know I don’t you’re going to want to  leave that for me…)

I’m also going to throw out there that I’m getting the flu or something else gross because my body has decided to rebel against me today.  But, my paper writing routine doesn’t generally involve getting off the couch much, so it’s alright.  I’m just telling you that so that you can have full confidence that I’m operating with full cognitive function today (ha!  not).  Like right now, when I don’t know when to shut up and have nothing more to say except that you should think about your personal philosophy of leisure and how leisure fits into culture and (bonus points) how leisure fits into faith (no, Reformers, an acceptable answer must be longer than “for the glory of God”)…

Do it.  Do it now.

Leave a comment:

