{Recipes & Eats}

A Monster Recipe

What are you up to this weekend?


Yesterday I broke the toilet.


That has nothing to do with this post.


I’m just unashamed and very amused that I broke the toilet.  Have no fear, it was already flushed.  I was trying to stop it from running and broke the handle inside the tank that connects to the outer handle to the rod that connects to the chain that connects to the water flapper/lid/guy.  Make sense?  I thought so.  It was plastic and could not handle my aggressive handle jiggling.  Wimp.


Anyways, Jared fixed it after church last night (we’re going to a night service again, we think we like it but we still haven’t made an official church decision).  I laughed the whole time while he was fixing it.


But that has zero to do with my post today.  I’m just in one of those moods.


This weekend I’ve spent a day with The Ugly Chair (she’s coming along nicely, but isn’t ready to make her debut yet.  but she does say hello), a day scoping out the local antique/thrift stores, a day in St. Louis at an REI parking lot sale , and today I’m cleaning (I’m not good at keeping things tidy while I’m working on projects.  Just ask my mom) and maybe spending some more time with The Chair.  


While I’m not about to make this a food blog I thought I would share a recipe.  Ruth and my cousin Sarah and I were talking on Pinterest about what my mom always called a “Monster Pancake”.  There was a recipe on Pinterest, but I didn’t think it seemed quite right so I did some digging and found my mom’s recipe.  Monster Pancakes were one of my favorite special breakfasts that my mom made and I still loooooooooooooove them.  Oh. So. Good.

I’m not a huge fan of breakfast casseroles or quiches (what am I saying?  By “not a huge fan” I mean that I loathe quiche.)  And even though the Monster Pancake does have a lot of eggs, it doesn’t remind of quiche.

 They’re really simple to make and super tasty.  And they expand to crazy proportions.  I used to like watching them in the oven right before they came out.  (Note: you can bake it a little longer than I did so it gets a bit more brown, but I was impatient and hungry.  Also, I made a generous half batch.  We ate the whole thing.)

I recommend serving it with crispy bacon and coffee.  Yummers.


Here’s my mom’s recipe:

Monster Pancake
Arrange shelves in oven such that there is 6 to 8 inch clearance above the shelf you are going to use.  Preheat oven to 425º Place 3/8 C. butter in 9 X 13 inch pan (preferably glass).  Put pan in oven to melt butter.
Meanwhile, thoroughly beat together:
5 large eggs
1 ¼ C. flour
1 ¼ C. milk
Pour this batter into melted butter in pan.  DO NOT MIX.  Bake for 20 minutes until monster is puffed high and golden brown.
Serve with syrup or fruit.
 
Happy Labor Day, everyone!
Leave a comment:

