{Tutorials & Handmade}

The Ugly Chair

About a month ago, while I was in Colorado, I was cruising CraigsList (the Southern Illinois area) for chair possibilities for our new place.  I found this guy:

The pictures for the listing were terrible, but I could make out the beautiful lines on her legs.  And, she was $10.  I called the gentlemen selling her and asked if I could buy her.  And pick her up in a month.  He said yes!

So, for the last month I’ve been day dreaming about what I have nicknamed, “The Ugly Chair”.  Every once and a while, while I was plotting how to arrange our living furniture I would remember that she exists and get really excited.

Yesterday, Jared and I went to pick up The Ugly Chair.  Oh, and yes, the chair is a she.  I haven’t decided on her name yet (I named our vacuum Fernando a couple days ago, in case you were wondering).

She’s seen some wear.

And she kind of smells like she’s seen some wear.

But how can you resist legs like that?  (Please, remind me I’ve said that after I’ve stripped them)

She’s a little sad in the back, but with a little love… okay, a lot of love, we’ll have her fixed right up and sittin’ pretty in the living room.

Though, I think I still might call her The Ugly Chair.  Just for kicks.

5 thoughts on “The Ugly Chair

  1. Christy,I'm very excited too! I'll let you know how it turns out.Fran,baaaaaaaaaahahahaaaa… except that my modeling career did not involve stripping.Ruth,while I don't want to ruin the surprise that will be The Ugly chair, I will tell you that this chair is so old that it doesn't even have foam. It has springs and batting and a layer of straw. That's right, straw. So, let's just say that this process is going to be… involved:)

    Like

  2. I also have been reading up online how-tos for upholstery… and stalking the thrift stores in west mi for such a find as this. I am jealous! Can't wait to see the final product!

    Like

Leave a comment:

