Backpacking & Outside / {Adventures}

Introducing the Marmot Chronicles

Hi Folks,

I’m starting a new mini-series on the ole Ugly Muffin Library that will give you a brief glimpse into our last backpacking trip.

Actually, it might not be very brief.  It might be lengthy.  I took VIDEO and they’re hilarious.  And random.   And I narrate.  And I crack myself up.  Mucho.  And, I suspect it will crack you up mucho too.  At least, that’s what I’m hoping.

Seriously, I am hoping that if you’ve never backpacked that I can give a little glimpse of what it is like to be on the trail.  And if you have backpacked, I hope the Marmot Chronicles will wet your appetite to see some new country.

Our most recent trip was to the Maroon Bells Wilderness, south of Aspen, Colorado.  It’s a rather popular area for tourists and backpackers.  Take a little peek:

The reason we’ll be calling this the Marmot Chronicles is because of this little fluffy fella.  He’s a Yellow Bellied Marmot.

And of course, we’ll be your tour guides on this little adventure.

I would like to thank my father for introducing me to Marty Stouffer and “Wild America” at a young age.  I remembered him when I met my first marmot and I’ll likely feel like him–exploring North American countryside and wildlife–during the Marmot Chronicles.  Minus the giant sweaters.  And the flannel shirts.  And the vests.  And the impressive beard.

I’ll let a little clip from Marty carry us out today.

Ummm…. and I’ll totally understand if you only watch the first minute of this video.  But only if you take a moment to admire that beard.
Leave a comment:

