Backpacking & Outside / {Adventures} / {Grateful}

I wandered in the woods…

Are you wondering how I made out with the three pounds of apples I had to peel, and the gigantic knife I was going to use?
Well, I made it.  But the one-and-only-kitchen-knife-we-own never came into the equation.  I decided I would probably lop off a finger before I was successful with my apple peeling.

I used my pocket knife to peel the apples.  Oh, handy pocket knife.  You’re too good to me. And fabulously colored because of that one time I ran multiple trail rides with an ink pen in my pocket until it exploded in that very same pocket and permanently turned you blue.

We did have slab pie.  And it was delicious.  We ate it for supper.  We ate it for breakfast.  We ate it for snack.  I think Jared told me he loved me more in those moments after pie eating than he normally does in a whole week.  Okay, maybe it wasn’t quite that much more.  But it was a lot.  He likes pie.

Jared, attempting to kick-butt in speed scrabble.  I believe I won this game.
I was on a fowl losing streak last week, but have no fear, I’ve recovered.
Clearly, this board went on to triumph (thank you, thank you very much).  These two pictures have nothing to do with the rest of this post.  I just thought you might want to see what we do instead of watching hours of television.  Not that we don’t watch television.  We just don’t watch as much television as we could.  Jared didn’t like playing speed scrabble when we first got the game, but I’ve made him play so many times that I think he likes it now.  But he might not admit it.

Now.  Jared likes pie.  I like details.

I went for a walk this morning.  I was preaching in my head about the wonders of the outdoors.  And now I’m going to preach on here.  It’s something I’ve been thinking about a lot.

You see, I would say that I fancy Jared and I as “outdoorsy” people.  I take a great deal of pride in that, whether it’s well-founded or healthy it’s a true statement.  Recently, I’ve been thinking about “all those people out there” that are “more” outdoorsy.  You see, it seems that here out East, people are a little more hip to the latest gear brands.  Or the big skiing mountains.  Or snowshoeing.  Or the newest climbing hole.  While that is refreshing, it makes me feel competitive.  I’m not really sure why.  It’s not as if there are aren’t enough outdoors to go around.  All this competition and tinge of jealousy has me think about what it means to be outdoorsy in the first place.  Originally, I started this mulling to somehow ease my hurt pride, but I think it became something more.

You see, there are big trips where you go backpacking and climbing and exploring and take incredible photos and blah blah blah big adventure.  Then there are smaller outdoor adventures, like taking walks or gardening.

I’ve been obsessed with the big trips, the impressive destinations, the gnarly scrapes that will make great stories later.  But big adventures are not always feasible.  And right now, today, a big adventure isn’t going to happen.  But a small adventure can.

So, in the spirit of small adventures, I took a walk this morning.  Across campus, there is a trail system that leads around some nearby lakes (read: large ponds).  I took some pictures.  I’m captivated by the beginning of spring and impressed that plants are growing in spite of the big fat snowflakes that fell yesterday (don’t worry.  the earth rejected them.  they melted).

I’m a detail person anyway.  Details in the woods are the best.

Fungus make me think of my mom.  I remember her being obsessed with fungus as a kid.  I’m not really sure if she was that obsessed, or if that’s just how I remember it.  Anyway, fungus makes me think of my mom.  I mean that in the best way possible, of course.
I don’t know what these are.  But they were cool.  And I think that they’ll be a spring flower.  Maybe.  Okay, I’m not really sure at all.  But look at that yellow thing inside.  That’s cool.  Does anyone know what these are?
There’s a poor dog weeping somewhere, because his master lost his ball in the snow.  Now the snow has melted, and the poor dog still doesn’t know where the ball is.  Poor dog.

Please, go for a walk today.  Find some woods.
Go on a small adventure.

Join spring in it’s glorious advent.
*steps off soap box gracefully*

One thought on “I wandered in the woods…

  1. 1. Yes, Mom loves fungus and mushrooms.2. I love the picture of the leaf.3. I am guessing that those flower things are related to jack-in-the-pulpits, but I don't know what they are.

    Like

Leave a comment:

