{Adventures} / {Recipes & Eats}

Jared and I have been soaking in as much sun as possible these last few weeks.  The sun has come out in it’s full warming force and it’s wonderful.   It’s averaging in the 40’s to 50’s most days, so we’ve been outside a lot more.

Friday, we explored the city of Salem.  Salem isn’t very far from us, probably like a fifteen minute drive.  People seem to be pretty loyal to their own little suburbia town, but still being newbies all the towns look the same.  And are really close together.  But that’s now relevant.

You’ll recall that Salem is a rather historic town, right on the coast.  Of course, Salem is home to the infamous Salem Witch Trials of early historic America.

A replica of a traditional cargo vessel, circa 1779.
I thought the rigging shed was really cool.  I’m not really sure why.
Rigging Shed.  Cool, right?  It’s okay, you don’t have to say yes.
We passed the New England Pirate Museum.  Sadly, they were still closed for the season.   Jared cried for twenty minutes.  Not really.
There was a pirate on their wall.  ARRRRRRRRRRRRRR….
Throughout the historic areas of Salem, there is a big red line marking a walking path.   We walked along the path for a while and walked past this, the oldest burying ground in the city of Salem.  Another interesting feature of Salem are the historic homes.  If the building meets the historical requirements they have a small, hand-painted sign on the home/building that says the name of the person it was originally built for, the year, and their occupation.
In keeping with tradition, we got a mug.  It now resides in the home of “Jared McDaniel.  Built in 2011.  Nomad”.  I mean, that’s how it would read if it were a house.  But it’s not.  It’s a mug.  I still haven’t figured out why there is a pineapple on it, but it seemed better than a witch (pineapples remind me of Shawn, from Psych.  Just thought I’d share. That’s the whole point of this blog, after all.  Sharing.  Love.  *Tear*
Why no, I’m not in a snarky mood today, why do you ask?  I’m just always this way…. bwhahahahaha).
I’m not sure what he’s so happy about, since we’re standing outside a cemetery. 
Look!  He was a Mayflower Pilgrim.

We saw a lot of other things, and but apparently I only took pictures of these things with my mind because when I got home I didn’t have pictures.  Huh.

On the graduate school front, Jared and I are pleased to announce that we’ve both been accepted to the Experiential Education program at Minnesota State University!  Utah and Southern Illinois are still working through all their applications, we probably won’t hear from them for a couple weeks.  I’ve talked to my advisor at MSU (not to be confused with Michigan State University.  They aren’t on the list.  I have stayed out of the MSU/UM rivalry my whole life and don’t plan to pick one now).  The program is pretty cool and there are some promising assistantship possibilities for both Jared and I.   We aren’t close to making a decision yet, but it feels really great to be accepted to grad school.  I think I just got thirty times nerdier.  Yes!

In other news, I would just like to boast on my sister, Ruth.  She completed her oral comprehension exam at Calvin Seminary on Thursday, an oral test where three people could ask her anything they wanted about God and life for about forty five minutes.  It’s kind of a big deal.  She’s kind of a big deal.  And she sustained (which is a really dumb way to say she passed.  And I don’t care if Calvin Sem knows that I think it’s dumb.  They should say “passed” for passed, or “excelled” or “kicked-butt” not “sustained”)!  But Ruth isn’t dumb.   She’s smart.  Great Job Ruth!

Congratulations Ruth!  So proud!  *wipes tear*
And congratulations to you if you’ve made it to the end of this blog post!  Most of our adventures these days are pretty small, which is why it’s taken me so long to post.  But apparently life snowballed a little…. sorry about that.

Stay tuned for a coming post about how I am going to peel a 3lb. bag of apples for slab pie with that knife you see there!  It’s the only kitchen knife we own.   And it’s great.  But I think I’m going to have a hard time peeling apples with that guy.  I have a really great kitchen peeler/slicer/corer that you just crank the apples through.  But it’s in a box.  In my parents basement.  So this knife and I are going to make it happen.  Wish me well.

What’s slab pie, you say?  OhmanOhman.  It’s so yummy.  It’s like pie, converted into a pop tart.  But not a pop tart at all.  Heavy on the crust, easy to hold, and with a light frosting this pastry is so so so so so so so good.  You can find a delicious recipe for slab pie at SmittenKitchen.com.  Do it.  You won’t regret it.  I promise.

One thought on “

Leave a comment:

